65th Scottish Universities Summer School in Physics: LHC Physics



The programme starts with the registration in the afternoon and reception in the evening of Sunday the 16th August. The lectures and courses run from Monday morning the 17th August through to Saturday morning the 29th August.  Departure is in the afternoon of Saturday the 29th August.

Lectures will be given in the School of Chemistry building on the North Haugh, a short walk from John Burnet Hall. Morning coffee will be served in this building between the morning lectures at 10.15 and 10:45. Afternoon tea will be served between 16.00 and 16.30 before the afternoon lecture.

Lecture Programme and Lecturers

Parton model and perturbative QCD

Keith Ellis (Fermilab, FNAL)

Electroweak Physics and Higgs

Sven Heinemeyer (Instituto de Fisica de Cantabria (CSIC-UC) )

Monte Carlo tools

Torbjorn Sjostrand (Lund University)

B physics

Gino Isidori ( Laboratori Nazionali, Frascati)

BSM phenomenology

John Ellis (CERN)

New physics searches

Gustaaf Brooijmans (Columbia University)

Heavy ion physics

Raimond Snellings (NIKHEF)

LHC: detectors and early physics

Gunther Dissertori (ETH, Zurich)

Forward physics

Albert De Roeck (CERN and Antwerp U.)


Philippe Lebrun (CERN)

Statistical methods

Glen Cowan (Royal Holloway, London)

LHC grid computing

Philippe Charpentier (CERN)


The Indico version of the timetable can be found here together with pdf copies of the lectures. A one-page summary of the timetable is here